White Rose on target at their own tournament

White Rose Archers from Hebden Bridge tasted success in two recent longbow tournaments.

Saturday, 26th October 2013, 12:00 pm
White Rose Archers Agincourt volley: this takes place at the end of the days shooting with all the archers shooting at once - and the arrow nearest the gold on any of the targets wins the prize.

That included winning the team award at the club’s 19th annual Sherry Shoot which attracted 54 archers, including three juniors, from different clubs across the north west.

Their successful line-up comprised David Whitham, Dave Bloomer, Steve Blamire and Ann Shooter.

In longbow tournaments first place goes to the archer with the most hits, second for the highest score and third for the most golds.

Derek Eastwood acted as Field Captain during the shoot and Lord Patron for the presentation of the awards.

There was a raffle and Walsden Cricket Club’s caterers provided an excellent lunch, afternoon tea and refreshments.

Results - First lady on hits: Sam Foster (Chantry Bowmen).

Second lady on score: Ann Shooter (White Rose Archers).

Third lady on golds: Sarah Davnall (Bowmen of Bruntwood).

Lady veteran: Sheila Hudson (White Rose Archers).

First gentleman on hits: Dale Message (Assheton).

Second gentleman on score: Anthony Adamski (Samlesbury Longbow Archers).

Third gentleman on golds: David Whitham (White Rose Archers).

Gentleman veteran: M. S. Cristison (GNAS)

Team Award: White Rose Archers with the best scores fromDavid Whitham, Dave Bloomer, Steve Blamire, Ann Shooter.

Jack and Jill: Sheila & Richard Hudson (White Rose Archers).

Junior: Lizzie Foster (North Cheshire Bowmen).

Other awards - Best gold: Andy Rowe (Assheton ). Worst white: Haydn Parker (White Rose Archers). Best red after lunch: David Aikin (Bowmen of Adel). Agincourt volley: Grayde Bowen (White Rose Archers). Gordon Foster Trophy: David Whitham (White Rose Archers).

Some White Rose archers took part in Chantry Bowmen’s Great Western tournament held in Sheffield.

Ann Shooter won first prize with the most hits, John Ball took the worst white prize and David Whitham won two of the gold sweeps.