Final winners called up

Manager Andrew Pinfield has been busy sorting out a much-changed Foster’s Halifax League side to play the York Senior League on Sunday.

Wednesday, 6th August 2014, 8:04 am
Toby Thorpe on his way to 115 in the cup final. Andrew Pinfield is at slip.

The leagues will take part in back-to-back Twenty/20 games at Goole Town CC to decide who progresses to the finals of the West Yorkshire Area Knockout Cup and the Nixon Trophy.

An earlier attempt to stage the matches, at Carlton Towers CC, was foiled by overnight rain.

With the deadline approaching to complete the semi-finals, the Halifax League has agreed to go ahead with the ties, in the shorter format of the game, in spite of the unavailability of 17 players.

However, Pinfield is happy with a line-up which will still be led by Booth’s Richard Laycock and now includes two of last weekend’s Parish Cup-winning side from Copley, Chris Dennison and Toby Thorpe.

Pinfield said: “The team is packed with all-round cricketers which is ideal for this format of the game.

“When you consider another 17 players were contacted and unavailable this week it shows the quality of cricketers now in the Halifax League.”

If the event of no play being possible due to bad weather, a bowl off will take place.

Team: Rick Laycock (captain, Booth), Patrick Thomas (Booth), Chris Dennison (Copley), Toby Thorpe (Copley), Jordan Laban (Jer Lane), Sam Wilson (Jer Lane), Steve Senior (Mytholmroyd), James Cowens (Mytholmroyd), Jamie Sykes (SBC), Ross Soames (wkt, Thornton), Josh Hutchinson (Thornton).

Unavailable: Rob Laycock & Chris Shannon (Booth); Raqeeb Younas, Michael Hustler, Jonny Lister, Paul Chapman, Jason Gelder and Simon Collins (all Jer Lane); James Clarke and Chris Goulden (Copley); Reece Jennison (Blackley); Jack Gledhill (Triangle); Jack Earle, Tom Earle, Jacob Travis and Adie Gawthrope (all Mytholmroyd); Jake Dixon (Sowerby Bridge).