Copley close in on home final

Copley are one more win away from appearing in the 2014 Halifax Parish Cup final on their own ground on Sunday, August 3.

Monday, 16th June 2014, 1:18 pm
Among the runs: James Clarke for Copley yesterday

They knocked out last year’s beaten finalists Booth by 14 runs yesterday to go into the semi-final draw alongside holders Jer Lane, Warley and middle section side SBCI.

A 143-run second wicket stand between Toby Thorpe (71) and James Clarke (72) set up Copley for a total of 208 for nine against a Booth side who had beaten them very narrowly at the same venue in the league 15 days earlier.

Patrick Thomas (43) and Ian Sharkey (45) led the visitors’ reply but they were stifled by spinner Chris Goulden (two for 13 off nine) and fell short.

Holders Jer Lane scored 248 for nine at home to fellow leading fancies Thornton and kept the visitors’ powerful batting line-up sufficiently in check to win by seven runs.

Wayne Cotton and Chris Ramsden had a near-century opening stand for Thornton, but the asking rate climbed to more than 10 an over as Andrew Pinfield, Johnny Lister, Paul Chapman and ‘keeper Graham Sivyer took good catches.

The visitors’ hopes were left hanging mainly on Nick Hutchinson, who made a half-century, but Nasser Chowdrey bowled a fine last over to swing it his side’s way.

Thornton needed 13 to win but managed only five singles, Chowdrey knocking back Greg Soames’s off stump with the penultimate delivery to settle matters.

Warley completed a superb weekend with a seven-wicket success at Blackley.

Chris Marsh’s side had beaten Premier Division leaders Sowerby Bridge in emphatic style on Saturday and they had no trouble following up.

Reece Jennison made 65 but a good all-round bowling display restricted the hosts to 171 and a 121-run second-wicket stand between John Rawson (67 no) and Jimmy Sarwar (57) ensured there was no way back for Blackley.

SBCI, who lifted the trophy two years ago, upset division-higher Southowram.

Chris Dalby hit 101 in an SBCI total of 221 for eight with George Hampshire’s 40 the next highest contribution.

Southowram were all out for 124 in reply with spinner Ben Summerscales taking three for 17.

Jason Slator made 28 and Ben Wells 25 in a disappointing Rams batting effort.

In the Crossley Shield, an unbeaten 127 from Umar Dawood helped Jer Lane seconds knock off 286 to win by seven wickets at Northowram HT.

Mytholmroyd completed a miserable day for Booth, winning by 100 runs away to their Calder Valley rivals after posting 297, and Wibsey Park Chapel bowled out Queensbury for 104 en route to a nine-wicket win.

Warley seconds were the first team through in the Shield, bowling out hosts Triangle for 51 and knocking off the runs without loss in seven overs.

PARISH CUP, quarter finals

Copley v Booth

Copley beat Booth by 14 runs

COPLEY 208 for nine

T Thorpe B c Shannon 71

c Dennison C H Wajid b R Laycock 23

J Clarke c P Thomas b C Shannon 72

C Taylor c R Cockroft b M Ayub 3

M Baldwin lbw b M Ayub 2

S Skinner c O Collinge b C Shannon 3

N Gomersal c R Laycock b P Thomas 13

I Mir b M Ayub 1

C Goulden c R Laycock b C Shannon 0

I Hartley not out 2

R Thorpe not out 2

Bowling: R Laycock 7 2 18 1, O Collinge 8 1 37 0, M Ayub 9 0 42 3, P Thomas 7 3 31 1, N Horsfall 6 0 38 0, C Shannon 8 0 29 4


C Shannon c C Dennison b R Thorpe 23

P Thomas lbw b R Thorpe 43

R Laycock c I Hartley b J Clarke 10

I Sharkey c T Thorpe b J Clarke 45

R Laycock run out 10

A Truscott c J Clarke b C Goulden 20

H Wajid b C Goulden 4

N Horsfall b T Thorpe 19

R Cockroft b T Thorpe 3

M Ayub b J Clarke 2

O Collinge not out 0

Bowling: R Thorpe 9 2 35 2, I Hartley 7 0 37 0 1, J Clarke 8 1 30 3, C Goulden 9 3 13 2, I Mir 2 0 11 0 1, C Dennison 3 0 12 0, M Baldwin 2 0 18 0, Thorpe 4 0 25 2.

Blackley v Warley

Warley beat Blackley by 7 wkts


D Walsh run out 15

T Baxter b A Azam 18

F Fox c M Whitworth b A Azam 2

R Jennison c S Hassan b G Keywood 65

D Houldin c S Hassan b U Saghir 22

J Baxter c & b U Saghir 9

N Irshad b L Keywood 19

J Watson not out 7

B Sheraz c N Bottomley b L Keywood 2

J Linsel c g Keywood b L Keywood 0

K Khan c & b G Keywood 0

Bowling: A Azam 9 3 18 2, L Duckitt 9 2 24 0, U Saghir 9 0 32 2, G Keywood 5 2 19 2, J Whitworth 3 0 31 0, L Keywood 6 0 39 3

WARLEY 173 for three

N Bottomley c F Fox b J Linsel 16

J Rawson not out 67

J Sarwar c B Sheraz b R Jennison 57

S Hassan c D Houldin b R Jennison 9

L Keywood not out 2

Bowling: N Irshad 8 1 33 0, J Linsel 7 1 23 1, B Sheraz 5 1 19 0, K Khan 5 0 19 0, R Jennison 5 0 36 2, J Watson 2 0 11 0, T Baxter 2 0 20 0.